Contact Us     Log in

Welcome to the Rio Grande Council of Governments

Serving the seven counties of Brewster, Culberson, Doña Ana, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Presidio, and the Tribal Nation of Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

The Rio Grande Council of Governments is a voluntary association of local governments formed under Texas law. In January of 1967, local elected officials in El Paso County joined together to form the El Paso Council of Governments. This organization was initiated to further intergovernmental cooperation and coordination in the planning, development and delivery of governmental services within El Paso County, Texas.

In 1971, the counties of Hudspeth, Culberson, Jeff Davis, Presidio and Brewster were included in the organization to form a truly “Regional” body, and the organization was renamed West Texas Council of Governments. In 1987, by vote of the membership, Doña Ana County, New Mexico and the local governments within were included as full members and the name of the organization was changed to the Rio Grande Council of Governments.

Mission & Vision

The mission of the RGCOG is to strengthen both the individual and collective power of west Texas and southern New Mexico communities through partnerships between local governments.

The RGCOG will be an essential resource to the success of local governments in west Texas and southern New Mexico.


Main Office Location

8037 Lockheed, Ste. 100,
El Paso, TX 79925

9-1-1 Rural Office

500 W. Ave. H, Room 115,
Alpine, TX 79830

Area Agency on Aging Rural Office

105 N. Mesa,
Marfa, TX 79843

Our hours of operation are

Monday - Thursday 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and Friday 8 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.